Are Doritos vegan?  The Ultimate Guide to Vegan Doritos Flavors

Are Doritos vegan? The Ultimate Guide to Vegan Doritos Flavors

Since 1966, Doritos has satisfied customers’ snack cravings with its flavored tortilla chips. But unfortunately for vegans, only one variety is vegan-friendly: Spicy Sweet Chili. The other flavors of Doritos contain various dairy and animal-derived flavors, none of which are vegan.

Let our guide to vegan Doritos help you decipher the label on your next bag of chips.

Why Almost All Doritos Aren’t Vegan

Almost all varieties of Doritos contain dairy products, such as cheese, milk, and butter. Additionally, the Salsa Verde (dairy-free) and Flames Doritos varieties include animal-derived flavors.

Serum

A byproduct of the cheese industry, whey is the liquid that remains after milk is coagulated and strained. Whey commonly appears as a food additive in baked goods.

Lactose

Lactose is a milk sugar derived from whey. After the whey is filtered for protein, the remaining liquid evaporates, leaving the lactose to crystallize.


whey protein concentrate

Whey protein is filtered from liquid whey. Manufacturers dry the whey or filter out lactose, fat, and other non-protein solids.

Buttermilk

In the United States, buttermilk is pasteurized and homogenized milk injected with a bacterial culture that will ferment lactose (milk sugar) to produce a thicker, slightly sour milk.

Skimmed milk

When nearly all of the milk fat is removed from whole milk, it becomes skim milk. Skim milk is also known as fat-free milk and fat-free milk.

Sodium caseinate

When milk proteins (casein) are chemically extracted from skim milk, the salty remnants of the milk are known as sodium caseinate. This non-vegan food additive helps emulsify, thicken and stabilize processed foods.

Sour cream

When heavy cream is fermented with lactic acid, it thickens the cream and sours it naturally.

Cheese

Cheese comes from the addition of acid and enzymes to animal milk. The additives coagulate the protein (casein) and the milk fat. The enzymes can be of both animal and non-animal origin.

Cheeses in Doritos include Parmesan, Cheddar, Romano, and Blue.

Cream cheese

Smooth and fresh, cream cheese is made from non-vegan milk and cream. Most industrially produced cream cheeses also contain plant-based stabilizers.

Butter

Butter is a non-vegan dairy product made from approximately 80% butterfat. When the protein and fat in dairy creamer are blended, the resulting product is a pale yellow spreadable paste.

Natural chicken or bee flavor

Under federal regulations, any food product that includes an animal-derived flavor must include that information on the label. If your Doritos contain natural chicken flavor or natural bee extracts, those flavors contain animal products.

Types of Vegan Doritos

The only vegan variety of Doritos is Spicy Sweet Chili. Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos do not contain any dairy products or flavors derived from animals like the other varieties.

Previously, Doritos had offered a vegan-friendly Toasted Corn variety, but that flavor is no longer in production.

Non-Vegan Doritos Varieties

Almost all varieties of Doritos contain dairy or flavors derived from animals. Unless you’ve seen the bag itself, you can safely assume that the Doritos on the table at your next party are not vegan friendly.

  • Flamin’ Hot Cool Ranch
  • Crispy Spicy Ranch 3D Model
  • Crispy Chili Cheese Nacho 3D
  • Flamin’ Hot Nacho
  • Flamin’ Hot Lemon
  • nacho cheese
  • cool ranch
  • Dynamite Chile Lemon
  • Poppin’ jalapeno
  • Spicy Nachos
  • calls
  • Buffalo and burning ranch
  • Tacos
  • Tapatio
  • Organic Spicy White Cheddar
  • Organic White Cheddar
  • Green sauce

Frequent questions


  • What flavors of Doritos are vegan?

    The only “accidentally vegan” flavor is Spicy Sweet Chili Doritos. No other variety of Doritos is suitable for vegans.


  • Are original Doritos vegan?

    Doritos used to carry their original vegan roasted corn chip, but that variety is no longer in production.


  • Are Cool Ranch Doritos vegan?

    No, unfortunately, they are not. Cool Ranch Doritos contains non-vegan lactose, buttermilk, skim milk, cheddar cheese, and buttermilk.


  • Are green sauce doritos vegan?

    At first glance, it seems as if Salsa Verde Doritos are vegan, but hidden in the ingredients is a natural chicken flavor, which is clearly not vegan. However, Salsa Verde Doritos do not contain the dairy products common in other varieties.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *