Is Starbucks Shaken Espresso vegan?  Sips of oatmeal and almond milk are tricky

Is Starbucks Shaken Espresso vegan? Sips of oatmeal and almond milk are tricky

It’s still winter, but you can already look forward to icy sips because Starbucks highlights its fan-favorite plant-based drink that first launched in March 2021. Although espresso-based drinks have remained on the menu since their launch, they’re great for helping you get through the winter blues and midday slumps. However, if you’re trying to avoid animal products, you might be wondering if Starbucks Shaken Espresso is vegan, especially since there are oat milk and almond milk versions. Here’s what you need to know about non-dairy sips.

The energizing Iced Shaken Espresso will have a big presence on the Starbucks menu in early January 2022, as it’s a perfect winter boost. To cool off quickly, the sip was inspired by Starbucks Doubleshot on Ice, a drink that debuted in 2015. There are three versions of the new creamy iteration known as Shaken Espresso, which debuted in March 2021: the classic Iced Shaken Espresso, the Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso, and the Iced Chocolate Almondmilk Shaken Espresso. At first glance, the ingredients in the plant-based Iced Shaken Espresso options appear to be vegan-friendly. Non-dairy versions contain oat milk or almond milk instead of 2% milk and Starbucks Blonde Espresso. While the Iced Brown Sugar Oatmilk Shaken Espresso contains brown sugar, cinnamon, oat milk, espresso, and ice, the Iced Chocolate Almondmilk Shaken Espresso combines espresso, cocoa, almond milk, and ice.

The classic version contains a blend of Starbucks Espresso and hand-whipped 2% milk for a slightly sweet, frothy iced coffee, so that version is not vegan.

Starbucks Shaken Espresso Sips with Oat Milk and Almond Milk do not contain animal derived ingredients, but are not officially certified vegan. Elite Daily previously contacted Starbucks regarding vegan items and, according to a Starbucks spokesperson, the company does not certify any of its beverages as vegan due to the risk of cross contamination and the way Starbucks stores operate.

Courtesy of Starbucks

If you’re okay with taking a sip of the non-vegan certified espresso stimulants, then you can partake in the non-dairy oatmeal and almond milk drinks. If you’d like, you can also choose to swap the classic Shaken Espresso 2% milk for a plant-based option.

When heading to Starbucks to order a Shaken Espresso, remember to check the CDC guidelines for the most up-to-date health rules.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.